Which Short Drama App Is Actually Free? All Six, Timed
All six are free to install; none is free to finish, with one provable exception. The daily free-unlock rate runs from one episode to nearly seven depending on the app — and the cheapest coins are not the cheapest episodes.

All six of the short drama apps we track are free to install. None of them is free to finish, with one narrow exception we can actually prove.
That exception is worth stating first, because it is the only verified free-to-the-end content in our whole catalogue: reading the paywall position off ReelShort’s own series pages, 108 of its 766 series run free from the first episode to the last. Not free to start — free all the way. Everything else on this page is about how long the free route takes when it does not end that way.
What “free” actually means on each of these
The model is identical across all six, and it is not a free trial. You install for nothing, you watch a few episodes for nothing, and then each further episode costs coins. Coins arrive three ways: you buy them, you watch ads for them, or you collect a daily check-in bonus.
So “is it free” collapses into one question with a number attached: how many episodes a day can you unlock without paying?
Nobody publishes that number. Neither the coin price of an episode nor the coin value of an ad appears anywhere in these apps’ store listings. On 25 August 2026 we collected 2,839 reviews from Apple’s own US review feed across all six apps and pulled every cost figure out of them by script. That is the only public source we have found for either half.
| App | Coins you can earn in a day | Coins one episode costs | Episodes a day, free |
|---|---|---|---|
| DramaBox | 33 | 5 | 6.6 |
| ReelShort | 310 | 58 | 5.3 |
| ShortMax | 155 | 80 | 1.9 |
| GoodShort | 50 | 50 | 1.0 |
| NetShort | not reported | 78 | — |
| FlexTV | not reported | 65 | — |
Read that last column as an order of magnitude, not a schedule. Every row is arithmetic sitting on top of between one and nine user reports — the thinnest inputs are the ad rewards, where several apps rest on a single review. These are user reports, not figures any platform published, and reviews span 2024 to 2026, during which prices may well have moved.
What survives that caveat is the shape, and the shape is a spread of more than six to one. On DramaBox a determined free viewer clears most of a week’s viewing in a day. On GoodShort the daily grind buys exactly one episode.
What that means in weeks
Put the daily rate against how long a series actually runs and the free route stops being abstract.
For the three platforms whose catalogues we can read, the median series runs 42 episodes on NetShort, 61 on ShortMax and 63 on ReelShort. So:
- ShortMax, at 1.9 episodes a day against a 61-episode median: roughly a month of opening the app every day and watching ads to finish one story.
- ReelShort, at 5.3 a day against a 63-episode median: roughly two weeks.
- GoodShort, at 1.0 a day: we hold no catalogue for GoodShort, so we cannot give you a median series length. At one episode a day, any series of ordinary length is a season-long commitment.
We have no catalogue at all for DramaBox, FlexTV or GoodShort — not a small one, none — so three of the six rows above cannot be converted into weeks by us or by anyone else who has not counted.
The cheapest app is not the one with the cheapest coins
Coin prices look wildly different across these apps and that difference is an illusion. What matters is what a coin buys.
| App | Dollars per coin | Coins per episode | Dollars per episode |
|---|---|---|---|
| DramaBox | $0.0998 | 5 | $0.50 |
| GoodShort | $0.010 | 50 | $0.50 |
| ReelShort | $0.010 | 58 | $0.58 |
| ShortMax | $0.010 | 80 | $0.80 |
DramaBox’s coin is worth about ten cents; everyone else’s is worth about one. But a DramaBox episode costs five coins and a ShortMax episode costs eighty. The denomination is arbitrary. Comparing coin counts between two of these apps tells you nothing at all; only the dollars-per-episode column compares.
The practical consequence: an app advertising “1,000 coins for $9.99” is not offering you a better deal than one advertising “500 coins for $9.99” until you know what an episode costs on each. That is the number none of them prints, and every episode price on this page is our arithmetic on reported figures rather than a rate any platform published.
Only GoodShort lets you check even half of it. Apple’s listing publishes GoodShort’s coin counts directly — 500 coins for $4.99, 1,000 for $9.99, 1,500 for $14.99, 2,000 for $19.99, 2,500 for $24.99 — every tier landing within a hundredth of a cent of one cent a coin, with no bulk discount at any size. For the other five, Apple gives a dollar price and nothing else, and every coin count we attach to those prices is our arithmetic working backward, not a figure the platform confirmed.
The one platform where free has a verified end point
ReelShort is the only one of the six that exposes where its paywall sits, series by series, on its own pages. That gives us something no amount of review-reading can:
- 108 of 766 series are free start to finish. No unlocking, ever.
- The other 658 open free and then charge. Across those, the free portion is a median of 17% of the series, and the wall falls between episodes 2 and 23 with no exceptions — 464 of the 658, just over seven in ten, land between episodes 7 and 12.
If free viewing is the whole point for you, that set of 108 is the only place in this category where we can point at specific titles and say the word “free” without a footnote about grinding. Browse them in the ReelShort catalogue, which prices each series using its real free-episode count rather than assuming you pay from episode one.
For the other five platforms there is no equivalent figure anywhere we can read, which is why every total we publish for them is a ceiling rather than a quote.
Free without installing anything
There is one more route that costs nothing and needs no account: the platforms’ own YouTube channels. We timed 3,132 uploads across ten official channels through 23 August 2026, and the amount of full-length material sitting there is substantial — 930 uploads run 30 minutes or longer.
It is very unevenly distributed. FlexTV’s channel posts a median upload of 69 minutes; DramaBox English a median of 39; ShortMax and ReelShort post medians of 5 and 7 minutes, which are clips rather than films. So the apps that make you grind hardest inside the app are not the ones giving most away outside it, and the relationship runs closer to the reverse.
Our guide to watching short dramas free and legally breaks that down channel by channel. Two limits attach: these are lengths of what each app chooses to publish on YouTube, which is not the same as an episode inside the app, and a single collection date is a snapshot rather than a policy.
So which one is actually free
None of them, and the honest ranking depends on what you mean:
- Want free-to-the-end with no grinding? Only ReelShort has verified titles that qualify, and only 108 of them — one series in seven of what we hold from it.
- Willing to watch ads daily? DramaBox and ReelShort move fastest by a wide margin; GoodShort is the slowest at a single episode a day.
- Want to pay but pay least? On our arithmetic from reported figures, DramaBox and GoodShort both land near $0.50 an episode; ShortMax is the most expensive we can compute, at about $0.80.
- Want nothing installed at all? The official YouTube channels, where FlexTV and DramaBox English post the most full-length material.
What this page cannot tell you
- The free-rate table rests on very thin reporting. Ad rewards for ShortMax, NetShort and ReelShort each come from a single review. Treat one-report rows as indicative, not measured.
- Prices change and reviews are dated. The reports here span 2024 to 2026. Every figure is stamped with when we collected it, not with when it was true.
- Two platforms cannot be computed at all, for different reasons. NetShort has a reported ad reward but no reported daily limit; FlexTV has a reported daily limit but no reported ad reward. Each is missing one half of the sum, so both cells are empty rather than estimated.
- Three platforms have no catalogue we can read, so no median series length, no free-episode count, no per-title anything.
- Apple’s review feed is not a survey. It opens at most ten pages per app, gives no sampling method, and covers the US store only.